5th Annual Illinois Surgical Conference "The Future of Our Profession"

Presented by

Chicago Surgical Society, Illinois Chapter American College of Surgeons (ACS), Illinois Surgical Society, Illinois Surgical Quality Improvement Collaborative, Metropolitan Chicago Chapter ACS Memorial Learning Center, Springfield, IL

Friday April 19, 2024 1:00 – 4:00 pm Illinois Surgical Society "Wet Lab," Laparoscopic Common Bile Duct Exploration Directors – David L Crawford MD, Robin A Alley MD, Springfield Clinic Peoria 6:00 – 10:00 pm Welcome Reception, Cocktails and Dinner Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum Saturday April 20, 2024 7:30 – 8:30am Continental Breakfast 8:00 – 8:05 am Presidents' and Directors' Welcome

8:05 – 9:25am

Illinois Chapter ACS Founders' Competition, Resident Research Presentations Moderator – Steven Tsoraides MD, Springfield Clinic Peoria

9:25 – 9:45am

Illinois State Medical Society

Erin O'Brien, Head Legislative Director

9:45-10:00 am Break

10:00 – 10:45 am Chicago Surgical Society, "Rural-Urban Disparities in Surgery" Amy Halverson MD, Northwestern University 10:45 – 11:40 am Social Drivers of Health Session, Illinois Surgical Quality Improvement Collaborative

Speaker - Anne Stey MD, Director of the Illinois Surgical Quality Improvement Collaborative and Asst Prof. of Surgery at Northwestern University

Speaker – Ami Shah, MD, Asst. Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics, Rush University Medical Center

11:40 – 12:45 pm

Lunch/Awards presentation

12:45 – 1:30 pm

Illinois Surgical Society, Interesting and Spectacular Cases

Moderator - Konstantin Umanskiy MD, University of Chicago

1:30 – 2:30 pm

The Future of Surgical Education

Moderator – Steven Tsoraides MD, Springfield Clinic Peoria Jan Rakinic MD, Southern Illinois University Ann Polcari MD, University of Chicago

2:30 – 2:45 pm

Break

2:45 – 3:45 pm Leadership Panel

Moderator – Steven Tsoraides MD, Springfield Clinic Peoria Cal Thomas, Chief Development Officer, Springfield Clinic Carol A. Friesen, Eastern Region CEO, OSF Healthcare Enrico Benedetti MD, University of Illinois at Chicago

3:45 – 4:30 pm

Legislative Town Hall

Moderator – Steven Tsoraides MD, Springfield Clinic Peoria Emma Zimmerman, Congressional Lobbyist, ACS Division of Advocacy and Health Policy Congressman Darin LaHood (video) Representative William Hauter, MD (video) Representative Anna Moeller Zach Kerker, Chief Brand and Advocacy Officer, Springfield Clinic